The Greatest Song You’ve Never Heard Podcast

The Podcast

There are songs that we all know that we are amazing no one we know has ever heard.  They are songs that end up as album cuts, or from bands or artists that we found along the way somewhere but most of our friends have never heard of.

This podcast features these songs as presented by Phil Anderson, and Chris Cochran.

 

08-c5-gxa7m

The Hosts

Phil Anderson and Chris Cochran are lifelong music lovers with a taste for a very wide variety of musical styles, genres, artists and decades.

 

4zn_-pksbww

Aug
15

Phil Uses the Phrase, “70’s Porn ‘Stache” So Casually

Phil Uses the Phrase, “70’s Porn ‘Stache” So Casually Today’s song is “The Sad Waltzes of Pietro Crespi” from Owen For more information on Owen, please visit: https://www.owenmusic.com

Jul
20

Phil Shows Why He’s a Hard Habit to Break

Phil Shows Why He’s a Hard Habit to Break Today’s song is “Lokin’ For You” from Bill Champlin. For more information on Bill Champlin, please visit: https://www.billchamplin.com

Jul
12

Trading in Phil’s Peace Sign for a Finger

Trading in Phil’s Peace Sign for a Finger Today’s song is “Violent Blue” from Chagall Guevara. For more information on Chagall Guevara, please visit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chagall_Guevara

Jul
05

Phil Forgets The Premise of His Own Podcast

Phil Forgets The Premise of His Own Podcast For real. Phil ACTUALLY thought no one had ever heard a super group comprised of 5 of the biggest stars on the planet. Oh and the song he chose today, actually made it to the Billboard top 100 songs! Yeah, no one has EVER heard the song […]

Jun
28

Is Phil a Man or a Bag of Sand?

Is Phil a Man or a Bag of Sand? “Swim Until You Can’t See Land” from Frightened Rabbit For more information on Frightened Rabbit, please visit: Frightened Rabbit Official Website  

Jun
21

A Song About Chris, and NOT Phil

A Song About Chris, and NOT Phil “Asshole” from Ben Limpic on the Original Soundtrack for the Motion Picture, Rudderless For more information on Ben Limpic, please visit: https://benlimpic.band For more info on the movie Rudderless check out the trailer here:  

Jun
14

BAM! Phil Brings Some New Jazz to The Table

BAM! Phil Brings Some New Jazz to The Table “The World Still Turns Around” from the Daniel Glass Trio album, BAM!  “Bolivia” from the Daniel Glass Trio album, BAM! For more information on Daniel Glass, please visit: https://danielglass.com

Jun
08

Hip Hoppity Rapster Phil On the Block

Hip Hoppity Rapster Phil On the Block “Back On The Block” by Quincy Jones For more information on Quincy Jones please visit: https://www.quincyjones.com

May
24

Phil Finally Experiences the Strong Hand of What?

Phil Finally Experiences the Strong Hand of What? “Strong Hand of Love” by Mark Heard “Nod Over Coffee” by Pierce Pettis For more information on Mark Heard please visit: https://www.markheard.net For more information on Pierce Pettis please visit: https://www.piercepettis.com

May
17

There’s a Little Boogie in Phil’s Woogie

There’s a Little Boogie in Phil’s Woogie “Luella” by Marcia Ball For more information on Marcia Ball please visit: http://marciaball.com

May
10

Phil Gets Slipped a Little Tunng

Phil Gets Slipped a Little Tunng “Bullets” by Tunng For more information on Tunng please visit: https://www.tunng.co.uk/

May
03

Phil Come Calcetines Malolientes Para el Cinco de Mayo

Phil Come Calcetines Malolientes Para el Cinco de Mayo “Rogaciano El Huapanguero” by Linda Ronstadt For more information on Linda Ronstadt please visit: https://www.lindaronstadt.com

Apr
26

Phil Admits He’s Leaning Female

Phil Admits He’s Leaning Female “Ability to Swing” by Patti Austin For more information on Patti Austin please visit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patti_Austin

Apr
19

Contact High For Phil?

Contact High For Phil? “Slick Watts” by Blue Scholars For more information on Blue Scholars please visit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blue_Scholars Here is a link to the full video:

Apr
12

Phil Tells Us About Fellas That He Can’t Get

Phil Tells Us About Fellas That He Can’t Get “Sweet Georgia Brown” by The Beatles – Tony Sheridan For more information on this song please visit: https://beatles.fandom.com/wiki/Sweet_Georgia_Brown

Apr
05

Phil Feels Like He Should Know Moisture

Phil Feels Like He Should Know Moisture “Upside Down” by Bob Gentry For more information on Bob Gentry please visit: https://bobgentry.com

Mar
29

Phil Talks About Putting Out

Phil Talks About Putting Out “Saints and Sinners” by Paddy Casey For more information on Paddy Casey please visit: https://www.paddycaseymusic.com

Mar
22

A Suggestive Song about Phil’s Shoe Size

A Suggestive Song about Phil’s Shoe Size “Texas Twister” by Little Feat For more information on Little Feat please visit: https://www.littlefeat.net

Mar
15

Phil Talks About a “Long Strap”

Phil Talks About a “Long Strap” “Something’s Missing” by Kris Orlowski For more information on Kris Orlowski please visit: http://www.krisorlowski.com

Mar
11

Phil Shows Us He’s a Paradox

Phil Shows Us He’s a Paradox “The Paradox Drive of Finite Confusion” by The May Company For more information on The May Company please visit: http://wearethemaycompany.com

Mar
01

Sitting in Phil’s Dschungel

Sitting in Phil’s Dschungel “Where Are We Now?” by David Bowie For more information on David Bowie please visit: https://www.davidbowie.com

Feb
22

Wait, He Stuck His WHAT Under the Bed, Phil?

Wait, He Stuck His WHAT Under the Bed, Phil? “Bossa Netti” by Vic Cionetti For more information on Vic Cionetti please visit: Vic Cionetti on Spotify

Feb
15

Phil Reveals His “Blue Steel”

Phil Reveals His “Blue Steel” “I Started a Joke” by The Wallflowers For more information on The Wallflowers please visit: https://www.wallflowersmusic.com “I Started a Joke” by The BeeGees For more information on The BeeGees please visit: https://www.beegees.com For More information on Zoolander please visit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zoolander

Feb
08

Phil Claims to Have “Hit On Everyone”

Phil Claims to Have “Hit On Everyone” “Will It Go ‘Round In Circles?” by Billy Preston For more information on Billy Preston please visit: http://www.billypreston.net

Feb
01

Phil FINALLY Admits When He’s Wrong

Phil FINALLY Admits When He’s Wrong “Great Lengths” by PFR For more information on PFR please visit: Pray For Rain (PFR)

Jan
26

Is That Phil Time-Stamping Himself, or is He Just Happy to See Me?

Is That Phil Time-Stamping Himself, or is He Just Happy to See Me? “Zanzibar” by Billy Joel “Stiletto” by Billy Joel “Where is the Orchestra?” By Billy Joel For more information on Billy Joel please visit: www.billyjoel.com

Jan
18

Hold the Phone…Phil Was an Aerobics Instructor? I Want Pictures!

Hold the Phone…Phil Was an Aerobics Instructor? I Want Pictures! “Veronica” By Elvis Costello from the Album “Spike” “My Brave Face” by Paul McCartney “The Lovers That Never Were (Original Demo)” by Paul McCartney and Elvis Costello from the album Flowers in the Dirt (Archive Collection) [2017 Remaster] For more information on Elvis Costello please […]

Jan
11

Phil Obviously Watches A LOT of TV

Phil Obviously Watches A LOT of TV “Eminence Front” By The Who from the 1982 Album “It’s Hard” For more information on The Who please visit: The Official Website of The Who

Jan
04

Phil Scores A Two-Fer

Phil Scores a Two-Fer “Kiss of Venus” By Paul McCartney ft. Dominic Fike  For more information on Paul McCartney please visit: Official Paul McCartney: Tours, Music, Media & Community For more information on Dominic Fike please visit:         Dominic Fikehttps://dominicfike.com

Dec
24

Logs On the Fire Phil Him With Desire

Logs On the Fire Phil Him With Desire “Missletoe and Me” By Isaac Hayes For more information on Isaac Hayes, please visit: https://isaachayes.com  

Dec
21

Phil Carves Up Some Candy

Phil Carves Up Some Candy “Give Me A Second Chance For Christmas” By The Candy Butchers For more information on The Candy Butchers, please visit: https://www.allmusic.com/artist/candy-butchers-mn0000531084/biography  

Dec
14

Sleep Deprived Phil

Sleep Deprived Phil “Sound Asleep” By Blondie For more information on Blondie, please visit: https://www.blondie.net  

Dec
07

Phil Doesn’t Know the Biggest Band in the World

Phil Doesn’t Know the Biggest Band in the World “Coloratura” By Coldplay For more information on Coldplay, please visit: https://www.coldplay.com  

Dec
03

Phil is the Mayor of Where?

Phil is the Mayor of Where? “Mayor of Simpleton” By XTC For more information on XTC, please visit: http://chalkhills.org  

Nov
23

Phil Learns About Yacht Rock

Phil Learns About Yacht Rock “Downstream” By Supertramp For more information on Supertramp, please visit: https://supertramp.com  

Nov
16

Bath Time for Phil?

Bath Time for Phil? “Bathtime in Clerkenweld” By The Real Tuesday Weld For more information on The Real Tuesday Weld, please visit: https://therealtuesdayweld.com/home To watch the video mentioned in this episode, click here: https://youtu.be/ETyOwymflXc  

Nov
07

Phil’s Crazy Summer

Phil’s Crazy Summer “It’s Good to be Alive” By Imelda May For more information on Imelda May, please visit: https://www.imeldamay.co.uk  

Aug
17

Phil’s Own Personal ‘Hey Jude’ Moment

Phil’s Own Personal ‘Hey Jude’ Moment “Day After Day” By Julian Lennon For more information on Julian Lennon, please visit: https://julianlennon.com  

Aug
12

Phil Loves Long Songs Too

Phil Loves Long Songs Too “Ecasty” By Rusted Root For more information on Rusted Root, please visit: https://www.rustedroot.com/  

Aug
03

Phil Finally Gets One Right…Kind Of

Phil Finally Gets One Right…Kind Of “Ghost on the Canvas” By Glen Campbell For more information on Glen Campbell, please visit: http://www.glencampbell.com  

Jul
30

What The Heck is a Pocket Trout?

What The Heck is a Pocket Trout? “July” By Mundy For more information on Mundy, please visit: https://mundy.ie/  

Jul
27

Se habla español?

Episode 17 – Se habla español? 1977 by Ana Tijoux For more information on Ana Tijoux please visit  https://www.anatijoux.bandcamp.com      

May
11

Phil’s Vantage Song

Phil’s Vantage Song “Big Time Operator” By Big Bad Voodoo Daddy For more information on Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, please visit: http://www.bbvd.com  

May
05

Phil’s Ability to Tell Men from Women

Phil’s Ability to Tell Men from Women “Mary Don’t You Weep” By Prince For more information on Prince, please visit: Prince | Official Website https://www.prince.com  

May
05

People Phil’s Age

People Phil’s Age “It Happened One Night” By Casey MacGill For more information on Casey MacGill, please visit: https://www.caseymacgill.com  

Apr
13

Episode 19 – Phil Shows His Tender Side

Episode 19 – Phil Shows His Tender Side “I Just Don’t Think I’ll Ever Get Over You” from Colin Hay For more information on Colin Hay visit: http://www.colinhay.com  

Apr
06

Episode 18 – Is that a special pocket in your pants for that sax?

Episode 18 – Is that a special pocket in your pants for that sax? “Island Lady” by Tony Gable and 206 off his 1996 debut album For more information on the first album of Tony Gable and 206 please visit  https://www.allmusic.com/album/tony-gable-206-mw0000100301  

Mar
31

Episode 16 – Bass for Days!

Episode 16 – Bass For Days! “Down In Hollywood” by Ry Cooder off the 1979 album Bob Till You Drop For more information on Ry Cooder please visit  https://rycooder.com      

Mar
30

Episode 15 – Phil’s Big Announcement

Episode 15 – Phil’s Big Announcement Same Kind of Crazy by Delbert McClinton, from the 2002 album Room To Breathe For more information on Delbert McClinton https://www.delbert.com    

Feb
25

Episode 14 – Perfectly Timed Words

Episode 14 – Perfectly Timed Words On Any Given Day – Carbon Leaf For more information on Carbon Leaf https://www.carbonleaf.com  

Feb
04

Episode 13 – Phil Finds a New Musical Friend

Episode 13 – Phil Finds a New Musical Friend The Call of Love – AJ Croce For more information on AJ Croce please visit  https://www.ajcrocemusic.com  

Jan
29

Episode 12 – We get Phil-o-sophical – Correct Song!

Episode 12 – We get Phil-o-sophical Me and Magdalena – The Monkees from the 2016 album Good Times written by Ben Gibbard For more information on The Monkees, please visit  https://www.monkees.com  

Jan
19

Episode 11 – It’s Pronounced Guitar, Not Git-arrr!

Episode 11 – It’s Pronounced Guitar, Not Git-arrr! Hear That Guitar Ring – The Powder Blues from the album, Uncut. For more information on The Powder Blues Band, please visit https://powderblues.net/

Jan
12

Episode 10 – WARNING! Phil Cusses!

Episode 10 – WARNING! Phil Cusses!

Jan
05

Episode 9 – Old Songs from Old Radio Stations

Episode 9 – Old Songs from Old Radio Stations

Dec
29

Episode 8 – Chris Likes Long Songs

Episode 8 – Chris Likes Long Songs

Dec
22

Episode 7 – A Special Guest Under the Mistletoe

Episode 7 – A Special Guest Under The Mistletoe

Dec
15

Episode 6 – The Non Traditional Traditional Christmas Song

Episode 6 – The Non Traditional Traditional Christmas Song

Dec
08

Episode 5 – The Christmas Novelty Song

5Episode 5 – The Christmas Novelty Song

Dec
01

Episode 4 – Christmas Kick Off

Episode 4 – Christmas Kick Off

Nov
27

Episode 2 – Are You Ready For This?

Episode 2 – Are you Ready For This?

Nov
27

Episode 1 – Mixtape

Episode 1 – Mixtape

Nov
26

Episode 3 – Being Thankful

Episode 3 – Being Thankful